UCMDB and UD Practitioners Forum (Previously CMS)
cancel

UCMDB - WMI_Connection_Util.py - Custom Attribute for current date\time

Highlighted
Timtator
Occasional Advisor

UCMDB - WMI_Connection_Util.py - Custom Attribute for current date\time

Hi everyone,

New to the forum :)

I have recently created a custom date attribute on the Node CI Type called "last_update_from_source".

I am editing the WMI_Connection_Util.py script and attempting to get the current time on the node, format is to look like "Oct 9, 2013 12:00:00 PM" and then updating the custom attribute.

This is my first time playing with python and WMI. The discovery runs without issue, there is no errors. However, the field does not update. I have tried with a string attribute as well and it still won't work.

Question 1. Have any of you had to do anything similar?

Question 2. Is this really the most effective way to populate the field?

Question 3. Can you see why it isn't working?

_wmiQuery5 = 'SELECT Day, Hour, Minute, Month, Year FROM Win32_LocalTime'
	    resultSet = client.executeQuery(_wmiQuery5)  # @@CMD_PERMISSION wmi protocol execution
	    if resultSet.next():
                Day = resultSet.getString(1)
                Hour = resultSet.getString(2)
                Minute = resultSet.getString(3)
                Month = resultSet.getString(4)
                Second = resultSet.getString(5)		    
                Year = resultSet.getString(6)	
                if Month == 1:
                    Month = 'Jan' 
                elif Month == 2:
                    Month = 'Feb'
                elif Month == 3:
                    Month = 'Mar'
                elif Month == 4:
                    Month = 'Apr'
                elif Month == 5:
                    Month = 'May'
                elif Month == 6:
                    Month = 'Jun'
                elif Month == 7:
                    Month = 'Jul'
                elif Month == 8:
                    Month = 'Aug'