Service Desk Practitioners Forum
cancel

Using Web API to create a new Incident

Highlighted
GunMetalGrey
Regular Contributor.

Using Web API to create a new Incident

Hi I'm very new to the whole HP SD application, but have been tasked to convert our systems from logging from InfraLite over to HP OV SD. Most of our applications are asp.net. I understand that HP OV SD is java based, and I have managed to develop a test webservice which I am able to connect to via our asp.net applications. However, is someone able to provide just a quick example for creating a new incident? I took a look at the example for creating a new problem and tried to modify it for the incident but think I've screwed up something or the server isn't configured correctly or something else. but in my eclipse console I get

"You are not allowed to insert this system incident" when I try to run on our "DEV" server

and
"Impact is: None
Priority is: None
Setting the status to Registered
Error Message: For system incident the following fields are required:

Deadline,
Impact,
Priority."

when I run it on our "TEST" server. Now I'm not sure what the exact differences are yet between the two. Things are kinda adhoc at the moment.

I've attached my file sample. Anyhelp would be greatly appreciated. Btw I'm predominantly a .net developer currently but have done a stint of Java in my previous years(been about 2 yrs now since I've touched it), so please forgive me for not being fully up to scratch with java :D..

also if someone could explain, after having looked at the sample pages on the SD, I noticed there is a option to add a new Service Call with a category of Incident, and also another option to add a new Incident (on a separate link). what is the difference betwen these two methods?..

thanks in advance

Jason
5 REPLIES
Radovan Skolnik
Acclaimed Contributor.

Re: Using Web API to create a new Incident