The community will be in read-only from Monday 11:59pm (PT) to Wednesday 7:30am (PT)
The community will be in read-only from Monday 11:59pm (PT) to Wednesday 7:30am (PT)
Service Desk Practitioners Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updating SD Clients with latest Service Pack

Highlighted
Jason Langer_1
Occasional Advisor

Updating SD Clients with latest Service Pack

Hey all,

I am new to SD administration and have been asked to come up with a way to update client systems that connect to our SD app servers. I have read through the documentation and the two options that look appealing is the hyper link and the remote updater. I was just curious what people would recommend using and the pros/cons for the two.

Thanks,

-Jason
2 REPLIES
George M. Meneg
Honored Contributor

Re: Updating SD Clients with latest Service Pack

Hello Jason,

The remote updater is transparent to the user. The client receives the update, it notifies user that a client restart is required, it restarts itself and that's it!

On the other hand
1. Only clients with version higher from SP10 (unofficially, officially it is SP11) can auto-upgrade themselves. That means that if you install OVSD from the Installation CD you have to manual install the service pack.

2. On a client that has not been upgraded yet but it has a version that supports remote update, you have to install SP by hand, if happens to have a hotfix for the upgraded version. By design the remote updater receives a hotfix before receiving the Service Pack and the mix of hotfix for a higher version with a service pack from a lower version doesn't work.

3. Sometimes, if you happen to have a hotfix for the current version and upgrade the application server to a newer version the file "hotfix.jar" doesn't get deleted and the client gets in an endless loop of starting and stopping.