Service Desk Practitioners Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Update all fields but status filed based on Role

Highlighted
Rory Emmans
Member

Update all fields but status filed based on Role

I am looking for a way for all users and support groups to be able to update various fields in a Service Call except for the status field once the ticket goes into Closed / Pending or closed status. The Help Desk is the only group that should be abler to re-open a ticket with any status. Using Status access will not work since most of the fields can continue to get updated when ticket is in closed / pending status.
3 REPLIES
Robert S. Falko
Honored Contributor

Re: Update all fields but status filed based on Role

Rory,

I think you need to rely on a UI rule that gives an error message when an authorized person updates the Service Call. The problem is to find a criterion other than work group or role, because UI rules do not know how to access these values.

That being said, what does it mean to be "closed" if everyone can still update the ticket?

-Josh
Mark O'Loughlin
Honored Contributor

Re: Update all fields but status filed based on Role

Hi Rory,

When the ticket is closed use a rule to put it into a different folder.
For the folder have general view access for all users and full access for the Helpdesk so that thye can reopen it. Users should not be able to update the fields of a closed call if they are not allowed update the status so this should work??
Rory Emmans
Member

Re: Update all fields but status filed based on Role

Reply to Josiah The status field is the only field that we do not want anybody to be able to update except for the Help Desk. We do not want the ticket to be re-opened
//Add this to "OnDomLoad" event