Unrelating CI's from other CI's

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
NMOLL
Regular Collector

Unrelating CI's from other CI's

Hey guys, I really need your help.

We have a bunch of hardware CI's (computers, servers, laptops etc.) with related software CI's (operating system, office packs etc.).

These are imported and related automatically, but sometimes software is also uninstalled and is therefore no longer related to the hardware CI.

For this, I need to find a way to automatically unrelate our software CI's from our hardware CI's

My thought is, is it possible to unrelate all CI's before I run my daily import?

I don’t think its possible using data exchange, but maybe one of you have some JAVA code that can do this (I'm no java programmer myself)? or maybe another solution to my problem.

Thanks a lot.
9 REPLIES
Jonathon Druce
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: Unrelating CI's from other CI's

Niels,

The way I do this is as follows;

I create a new CI relation called "Redundant" or "No longer related"

I then import the CI's and their relations from the data source.

I next extract all the relations from my data source but give them a relationship descriptor of "Redundant"

I then extract the same relations from the Service Desk Data base and give them the same relationship descriptor.

Finally I do a delta import with the SD data being the data and the external data being the reco file. What happens is that if a relationship is in the external data and in service desk nothing happens (no difference). If it is in Service Desk but not in the source then the descriptor will get changed to "Redundant" as it is seen as a new record (present in SD but not in external data). The trick is to make the unique key on the import mapping both the cifrom and cito.

Hope this makes sense.
NMOLL
Regular Collector

Hi Jonathon,

I think I understand.

Doing it this way, I will not unrelate anything, just change the relation type from "Related to" to "No longer related"?