cancel

Understanding "Time" in Service Desk 4.5

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
Carlos Thompson
Respected Contributor.

Understanding "Time" in Service Desk 4.5

OK gurus, it's finally happened. My boss wants me to completely understand and fix "time" in service desk 4.5. We are a global company and time is really getting complicated.

I have grown from knowing nothing about SD, and in about a year have gotten my HP AIS for HPOVSD and now am one of the two global admins for our system. I am now an expert on everything from DB/UI rules to programing with the API, but 24 hour time in SD has always confused me.

What I need to understand:

-The "SLA Tracking" Tab on a Support Call.
-The calcuations between acutal start/finish/duration/etc. on calls and on work orders.
-How SLA in SD 4.5 is used, or not used. In our case we only have dummy services setup, but nothing regarding SLA. I am worried that in order to fix some of our issues I am going to have to implement SLM.
-How to incorporate business hours and timezones of an internatinal company. We are using the service hours our consultant left us, which is just 7:30a - 4:30pm CST Monday-Friday, which is screwing up the duration times when a person outside of CST creates tickets and the deadline is calculated.

I am looking for documentation on these subjects, and also how your international organization handles 24 time in SD 4.5

We are running HPOVSD 4.5 SP20 with APM installed (to make it even more complicated).

Thanks
Carlos
7 REPLIES
George M. Meneg
Acclaimed Contributor.
Solution

Re: Understanding "Time" in Service Desk 4.5

Hello Carlos,

SLA concept is quite complex to be understood in a post.

The general idea is: You assign an SLA to a Service, assign receivers to the SLA, you assign a service level to the SLA (where support hours are defined), you also define what time zone of the SLA is going to be taken into account (provider's or customer's).