Service Desk Practitioners Forum
cancel

System generated e mails when completing a support request

Highlighted
Martin Hand
Contributor.

System generated e mails when completing a support request

If I have the option 'Send me e-mail when items are asigned to me' switched on I (correctly)recieve an e mail when an item is assigned to any workgroup that I am a member of.

when I then open a support request from my queue (at this stage it is not assigned to a specialist), work it, complete the call and assign it to myself as the specialist, I then get an e mail telling me that the support request I've just completed and assigned to myself has been assigned to me.

I can understand why this is happening, but is there a way I can switch off the notification in this scenario?

Currently on 4.5 SP12, just about to upgrade to SP19

Thanks
1 REPLY
Tim Schmitt_4
Honored Contributor.

Re: System generated e mails when completing a support request

There is no way to split the notification between assignment group and assignment person in SP12 without disabling the out of the box notifications and creating DB rules for each module. It's not very easy to disable the out of box notifications, as users can turn them on through the Service Desk client.

In one of the higher service packs (I think SP20 although it may be SP19), HP divided this functionality into two checkboxes so the user can select a notification when an item is assigned to their workgroup OR when assigned to the person.