Service Today HPSD4.5 SP 23

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
Elizabeth Niels
Super Collector

Service Today HPSD4.5 SP 23

Hi
I created a custom field called updated that shows a light on icon when the call, problem incident etc has been updated by someone other than the person named in "to person"
This works fine but it needs to be shown as a field in Service Today as a lot of people use this view. I can understand that it is not possible to add a custom field to the view in Service Today but reading other posts there was a suggestion to make a UI rule that links the field to eg. Source ID or something else that is available on Service Today. As I am new to all this can someone explain exactly how I can do this and what effect this would have on the other modules if I use SourceID in Service Today.
Thanks
6 REPLIES
Ruth Porter
Honored Contributor

Re: Service Today HPSD4.5 SP 23

Hi there,

The sourceID field is available on all record types and is intended for use when doing a data import or generating an event to be used as the unique key.

In my experience, it is quite safe to use SourceID as you wish because you can always use a custom field for its oringinal purpose if needed.

So what you need to do is to have a rule:
Condition: your custom field is not empty
Action: data update: SourceID set to your custom field.

Then confgure your Service Today views to set various font colours when sourceID has various values.

Hope this helps, Ruth

PS if you need screen shots just ask
http://www.teamultra.net
Elizabeth Niels
Super Collector

Hi Ruth and thanks for the reply..however I have just been told that we cannot use SourceID as it is already used for something with SAP.. it also needs to be a field that can display an icon ...