Service Desk Practitioners Forum
cancel

Receiving merge errors in open view service desk

Highlighted
Joe_456
New Member.

Receiving merge errors in open view service desk

Receiving the error " The item has been changed byt the system or another user. The differences have to be merged. Do you want to continue". This happens whenever we click file, then save or ctrl + S (we have to do this in order to import information from our knowledge base), we import our knowledge base, and then fill out the other fields that are required, and then attempt to close the ticket. This is when we receive the error. We then have to hit f5 to refresh, in which everything that we put into the ticket gets deleted. Is there a specific order that we have to imput information?

Thanks in advanced!!
2 REPLIES
Dave Furlani
Super Contributor.

Re: Receiving merge errors in open view service desk

Once an item is saved in OVSD the changes appear on the database. At this point the DB rules are triggerred and do whatever they need to do, which often changes audited fields, which in turn creates new history items.

Ctrl-S is dangerous in that it saves to the database (thus potentially triggerring DB rules), but also leaves the item on screen leaving it open for further edditing.

The ways around this is are:
- to not save until you are finished working on the item.
- If you must use Ctrl-S, do that, then wait a minute or so for the DB rules to finish, then hit F5 before making any more changes.
- change your work processes and DB rules to reduce the likelyhood of a merge.
Joe_456
New Member.

Re: Receiving merge errors in open view service desk

Thanks for your response