JSP Coders - easy 10 points

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
Elias Abboud
Honored Contributor

JSP Coders - easy 10 points

Hello JSP coders,

I have written a new function into Service Pages JSP code. I want to make that function available to my customers but I don't want them to have the source code.

Currently I have written the code for this directly in the corresponding JSP file of SD service pages interface.

Is there a way I could compile this into some format and still use it from inside the JSP file? Can someone give me step by step instructions? I am a beginner in this field :)

I've heard about making it a jar file, would this be enough and how do I do it?

Thanks in advance
If you can't solve it, post it :)
6 REPLIES
Gyula Matics_1
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: JSP Coders - easy 10 points

Well, with java, there is no such thing as hiding the source code. You can create a jar and hide your code in it. But a jar is just a zip file that contains compiled java classes. But java is byte code which means that it is more or less possible to decompile the classes and recreate the source... There are several decompilers out there. There are also obfuscators that make decompiling harder or at least the decompiled source code harder to read.

If you still want to create a jar, first you need to separate parts of your code into standalone java classes, which are put into their own .java files. Then compile the class into .class files, then zip them and rename the zip to jar. Instead of doing it by hand, you can use a Java IDE like Eclipse or NetBeans to automatically create the jars.
Elias Abboud
Honored Contributor

Thanks a lot Gyula,

I still want to create the jar file. I have downloaded and installed eclipse.

Maybe I was not clear in my first post. The steps I need to know are:

1. I have a function that accepts parameters and returns a string value.

2. How should I put that function in a JAR file? In which folder should I put this Jar file?