Service Desk Practitioners Forum
cancel

Dealing with Workgroups no longer in use

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
Marco Antonio G
Super Contributor.

Dealing with Workgroups no longer in use

Greetings!

I was wonderng what is thebest way to deal with Workgroups that ae no longer being used or extinct?

- Deletion seems risky on account of referential integrity problems in the SD DB.

- Renaming might jeapardize historical data. If I rename a Group would the groups history now be under the "new name"?

- If I set a Workgroup's status to inactive, does that inherently prevent any items from being assigned to them or woul that require a DB or UI rule to be put in place?

Thanks in avdance!
3 REPLIES
Ruth Porter
Acclaimed Contributor.
Solution

Re: Dealing with Workgroups no longer in use

Hi Marco,

The best thing to do is to BLOCK them; this leaves them there but means they not available for selection.

I usually recommend that when you block them, you also rename them; for example if they are called XXXX now, to rename it as ZZ_Blocked_XXXX.

Hope this helps, Ruth
http://www.teamultra.net
Mark O'Loughlin
Acclaimed Contributor.

Re: Dealing with Workgroups no longer in use

Hi,

as Ruth says Block and rename the groups. Also you could put them in a folder that no one has access to also.
Marco Antonio G
Super Contributor.

Re: Dealing with Workgroups no longer in use

Thank you for the tips! I really appreciate it!