Project and Portfolio Management Practitioners Forum
cancel

cost rule changes

Highlighted
brm
New Member.

cost rule changes

Hello,

Please let me know what impact will be there for existing projects if we change cost rate for a resource or role. If there is an impact please let me know how to make those changes without impacting to old projects.

Thanks in advance....
2 REPLIES
Loc_Nguyen_PPM
Outstanding Contributor.

Re: cost rule changes

Hi brm,

 

The Costs of Time Sheets can be affected when:

 

A. CHANGE the existing Cost Rule, it will affect all Time Sheets (apart from the frozen ones) due to the duration – the same Start Date takes affect. Unfreeze existing Time Sheets, they will also be recalculated.

B. CREATE a new Cost Rule, and thus End Date the first and start the new one from there, all Time Sheets with periods before the new Start Date of the new Cost Rule will keep their Actual Costs while the new periods will be calculated with the new Cost Rule. This also applies to the frozen Time Sheets when unfrozen.

The Costs on the Work Plan are calculated irrespective of the status of Time Sheets and adhering only to the mathematical formula. Case scenarios:

1. Work Plan is currently in "Completed" State and there was a Cost Rate applicable so far. Now update is done for a earlier date when the Task would have been Active.

2. Work Plan is currently in "Open" State and a Task is in "Complete" State. There was a Cost Rate applicable so far. Now update is done for a earlier Date when the Task would have been "Active".

If the Cost Rate for a Resource is changed, and the Resource is assigned to Tasks in a Project Plan, the Planned Costs for the entire Project are re-calculated even if the Task is "Complete". This can be changed with the following parameter: com.kintana.core.server.ENABLE_RESOURCE_COST_UPDATE_SERVICE=true.

After making this change, the Resource's Cost Rate change will change for any current Task the Resource is assigned to, and any future Task assigned (until the Rate changes again.). Completed Tasks will not be reassessed at the new Cost Rate. Any Task that is "IN PROGRESS" gets the entire Planned Costs updated according to the new Rate for the Resource.

The Work Plan or Task thus does not get updated with the new Cost Rule. If the Work Plan or Task is reopened, all Tasks that have Resources with a changed Cost Rule assigned will be recalculated for any Task that is not in "Complete" Status.

If this causes data discrepancies with frozen, cancelled or closed Time Sheets, these need to be opened and saved again.

Summary:
If one changes the Cost Rule, there will potentially be discrepancies with Time Sheets vs Tasks.
For example, Tasks are completed and the Project settings allow Time Sheets and Actuals to be logged against completed Tasks. If the Cost Rule changed between the time that the Task was completed and the time that the Time Sheet Line was created, the Task would show the old Cost data, the Time Sheet the new one.
Similar behavior if the Task is completed and never reopened, the Time Sheet unfrozen at a later stage.
Similar behavior if the Task is reopened at a later stage, the Time Sheet stays frozen.
Etc....

To avoid this kind of scenario, one should not change the Cost Rule, and rather end the old one at a certain Date and create a new one following that Date. This will keep all data consistent.

 

 

 

Hope this helps.

“HP Support
If you find that this or any post resolves your issue, please be sure to mark it as an accepted solution.”
brm
New Member.

Re: cost rule changes

Thanks for your explanation vinhloc81.

 

Little bit confused with your explanation. Cost Roll ups will be done using Staffing Profile. We are not using Time Management with Project Management integration. Then what would be the impact to the opened/in progress projects if we make the earlier rate end date as for example December 30, 2014 and add another rate from Jan 1, 2015.

 

Could you please explain in this scenario.

 

Thanks & Regards,

brm