Project and Portfolio Management Practitioners Forum
cancel

Updating a work plan at same time

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
Frankie_Kings
Super Contributor.

Updating a work plan at same time

Team, we can have multiple Project Managers listed on a project.  If two or more managers are in the same project  workplan at the same time and saving and making updates to tasks/assignments , does PPM send any message to the user that other updates are being done or is it able to handle multiple updates to the same plan?

Would it lock out any user or prevent updates?

 

Appreciate the information.

Thanks!

Frank 

3 REPLIES
dirkf
Acclaimed Contributor.

Re: Updating a work plan at same time

Hi Frank,

 

not too sure if the code has been changed of late but I believe the same should and would happen as if you are trying to update a work plan task while a rollup service is touching the same. Trying to save a task should show "Task has been updated by another user"

Are you troubleshooting an perceived problem or is this an informational question?

 

Best regards,

Dirk

Frankie_Kings
Super Contributor.

Re: Updating a work plan at same time

Dirk,  we were just inquiring on any potential impacts.  We can have more than 1 'project manager' assigned to a project plan, so while it would be unlikely for updates to happen at same time, we just wanted to make sure there would be some kind of error or message indicated.  We thought the 'updated by another user' note would hopefully occur and wanted to confirm.

Thanks so much for your input!

Frank

dirkf
Acclaimed Contributor.
Solution

Re: Updating a work plan at same time

Hi Frank,

 

if it helped clarify your problem, I'm happier all the more.

 

Take care :-)

 

Best regards,

Dirk

 

btw - if you consider the thread solved, please flag it accordingly.