Project and Portfolio Management Practitioners Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change in workflow steps do not reflect for active projects.

Highlighted
happa
Collector

Change in workflow steps do not reflect for active projects.

Hello, 

Currently we are using HP-PPM 9.14.0002 

We have a new requirement in changing the workflow steps to align with the new IT process. 

Current workflow steps are: 

Requirements -> Design -> Realization -> AfterCare -> Closed 

New workflow steps to be changed to: 

Planning -> Implementation -> Closing -> Closed 

I have copied the existing workflow to new one and changed the steps in the new workflow, these are reflecting in the active project's available actions section but not in the Project Status field and in the Projects list view.
The Project Status field is getting reflected with new steps for the projects that are newly created after the workflow change but not for the existing active projects. 

Can you let me know what are the areas where I need to change the workflow steps for e.g, like validations, etc.. 

Thanks and Regards, 
Santhosh 

4 REPLIES
kwood55
Frequent Visitor

Re: Change in workflow steps do not reflect for active projects.

You modified the workflow the way it should be modified:

- You copied the existing workflow and made your changes

- You probably modfied the Request Type rule that sets the workflow to your new workflow.

   Or how ever you set the workflow for your Project Request Types.

 

Since existing projects were created with the old workflow, they will still use the old workflow.

The easiest thing to do is let these old ones transition to "Closed".

 

If you really need to have existing projects reflect the new workflow, there are things you can do.

But it starts to get complicated.

 

For things like validations it is best to make a copy of these too. Or at least check the "Used By" first.

kwood55
Frequent Visitor

Re: Change in workflow steps do not reflect for active projects.

Also, when I say watch "Used by" keep in mind:

- You copied workflow X to new workflow Y

- If workflow X had a decision box 1, workflow X and Y now share decision box 1.

   If you opened new workflow Y and modified the status name in decision box 1.

   Now workflow X and all Projects created with workflow X can reflect the new status name.

 

decision box 1 is "Used by" Workflow X and new workflow Y.

happa
Collector

Re: Change in workflow steps do not reflect for active projects.

Hello,

Thanks for the suggestions.

My requirement is that I really need to have existing projects reflect the new workflow.! (Coz there are more than 200 active projects and its very difficult and laborious task to close them and again create new projects)

Can you please let me know if there is any way and what are they?

Regards,
Santhosh
kwood55
Frequent Visitor

Re: Change in workflow steps do not reflect for active projects.

With my version HP Demand Mgmt Config Guide has a section Modifying Workflows Already In Use.

I have successfully modified a workflow with active Requests.
I deleted a decision box, and some of the Requests were before and after this workflow step.

- I was fairly familiar with the workbench tool for modifying workflows.
- I did this when I knew that no users where using the system.
- I had PPM App Server and DB Server backups.
- I deleted the transitions into the decision box and leaving the decision box.
   Because some Requests were past this step, the decision box can not be deleted.
   But it really is not in the worfklow anymore.
 - I created a transition around the deleted workflow step.
   The new transition required notification mods.
   
Your changes look close to mine. You will be removing a workflow step and renaming some steps.

A quick glance at yours and I am wondering if you could
- Not delete any decision boxes.
- Rename Design to Planning
- Rename Realization to Implementation
- Rename AfterCare to Closing
- Leave Closed alone.
- Leave Requirements alone.
Remember new Projects will follow your new workflow, this is just modifying the old workflow.

Watch out for "Used by" your new workflow may be sharing the old workflow decision boxes.

//Add this to "OnDomLoad" event