cancel

Viewer Options

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
Tones
Super Contributor.

Viewer Options

We have a number of users who frequently lose their viewer settings from TRIM 6.2.4.1226 (additional file types to bypsas TRIM Viewer eg doc and docx.

Two questions: Is this a known issue? Can additional file types be specified / set in the msi before deployment to client machines?

4 REPLIES
Chris Mcklaren
Outstanding Contributor.

Re: Viewer Options

Hi Tones,

 

Is your site using GetGlobal to manage user settings?  If so then I am at a loss as to why only some folks are loosing Viewer settings (it would be a broader issue).

 

However if you are not using GetGlobal settings and you are using manual settings then there might be a save problem.  When you add new file associations into the Viewer options these are saved into the user registry when TRIM is closed.  There are a few circumstances that can upset this:

1. The user registry has a save problem (profile flushed after logout/login or some other roaming profile issue).

2. More than one TRIM session is open.  The last closed TRIM session wins (saved).  By this I mean that a user makes changes in one session and closes that first.  The other session is still holding stale settings and when closed resets the user registry back to the previous state (happens more often then you might think).

3. A logon script (or other logon manager) writes user registry settings forcing a specific set of options...

4. If you notice other user options in TRIM being reset then there may be a display properties error (in the registry) and this will force TRIM to return to vendor default settings...

5. Something else...

 

To answer your other question, the viewer settings can't be modified in the standard TRIM MSI package using the MSI administrator options.  They could be modified if you use a MSI repacking tool and have a very good understanding of what you are doing and then test it to death...

Alternatively you simply push out an additional package (home made) that contains all of your preferred modifications for the TRIM client.  Again you need to know what your are doing as the TRIM package is a machine based deployment and your customisations need to be a user based deployment.

 

Hope I haven't lost or confused you...

 

What part of the world are you in?  Do you need some help?

 

Cheers,

Chris Mcklaren

Cheers,
Chris Mcklaren
Tones
Super Contributor.
Solution

Re: Viewer Options

Chris,

 

we do use GetGlobal and roaming profiles. The instances were user preferences are lost are typically after an operating system update / patch. Definitely do not want to embark on writing an additional package, so we will continue to investigate.

 

Thanks

Tones

Chris Mcklaren
Outstanding Contributor.

Re: Viewer Options

Hi Tones,

 

Roaming profiles can be a pain especially if users actually roam.  I not an expert in this area but I have seen TRIM users complain of loosing settings just as you have described.  We think that when a OS patch is pushed out it may refresh the user profile from the active directory cached copy which could be many days out of date.

 

Also do any of your affected users access TRIM via a Terminal Services\Citrix server? (for external access).  Sometimes this can complicate the user profile...

 

Please consider the above comments as not proven...  but something to investigate.

 

Cheers,

Chris Mcklaren

 

Cheers,
Chris Mcklaren
Rich_Kid
Outstanding Contributor.

Re: Viewer Options

There are a number of things that can conspire to lose settings and frustrate users / support staff.

Some have already been mentioned like general Profile issues.

 

A few others that come to mind are

 

Changing user category.

Working on a machine with different or incorrect time zone settings (DST especially).

Swapping between different machines (Desktop and Laptop)

Connecting via a different workgroup server can cause issues if it's different to the other.

Connecting from different sites (especially across time zones)

 

Regards