Client Support
cancel

TRIM 7.1 failing on VPN connection: "Client side message length error"

Highlighted
John_Noble
Frequent Contributor.

TRIM 7.1 failing on VPN connection: "Client side message length error"

Hi there. Best wishes to all.

I might be a newbie here but trust me, I've spent days on this before coming here for help. Any suggestions would be most welcome. :robothappy:

Background: TRIM 6.2 upgraded to TRIM 7.1 last weekend. All's fine on the LAN, but when connected via VPN - Citrix, through a Netscaler (9.2) - I see this error:

• Connection to [dataset details] failed: Error connecting to [dataset]. Client side message length error.

Nothing else changed last weekend - we didn't change the CAG at all, nor any other network settings.

Network traces show TRIM.exe sending a TCP RESET very soon after the initial SYN/ACK handshake. My hunch is that TRIM isn't handling the altered network stack on the workstation due to the VPN. Just a hunch, though...

I've tried a bunch of stuff to isolate this issue:

• Moved a VM to our DMZ, inside the CAG but outside a key internal firewall. Works.
  • Moved a VM in to an artificially NAT'd zone to confirm it's not NAT messing up. Works.
  • Telnet to <TRIM server:TRIM port> from the VPN connection works just fine.
  • Played with the MTU values to see if large packets were at fault. Doesn't seem to be, and the network trace shows reasonably small packets anyway.

I'm properly stuck. Could anyone suggest where I might go from here? I have a deep feeling it's TRIM not getting along with my local network settings - really don't think it's happening anywhere but on the local machine - but wouldn't know what to do with TRIM now.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

j.

8 REPLIES
Grundy
Acclaimed Contributor.

Re: TRIM 7.1 failing on VPN connection: "Client side message length error"

Check out the solution here in this thread.