cancel

Existing favourites 6.2.4 > 6.2.5

Highlighted
Tones
Super Contributor.

Existing favourites 6.2.4 > 6.2.5

We are planning to upgrade from 6.2.4.1226 to 6.2.5.1322 soonish and want to preserve user's customised  settings, toolbars and favourites. The previous upgrade was undertaken when very few users were using TRIM so the impact was relatively minor. With hundreds now using TRIM we don't want to impact their user experience by forcing them to recreate all their personalised settings.  If 6.2.5 is installed over the top of 6.2.4 are the user settings preserved? If not, how can we achieve the desired outcome?

(Did note post on upgrading to TRIM 7 using command line switches on the deployment msi)

2 REPLIES
JasonIMEX
Outstanding Contributor.

Re: Existing favourites 6.2.4 > 6.2.5

Do your users use roaming profiles?

I know some settings and files are saved if your users use a network drive for their working folders. you can find them at  HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\TOWER Software\TRIM5\DataPaths and the specific dataset ID... im not sure of what exact settings saved but would be very interested myself on what they are. I seem to recall things like that are now saved in an actual table in Trim 7?   

TRIMGuru
Acclaimed Contributor.

Re: Existing favourites 6.2.4 > 6.2.5

So far for what I see in v7, they're not being saved in a Table.