cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't install 7.02 build 1621

Highlighted
samd_1

Can't install 7.02 build 1621

I am trying to install 7.02 build 1621 on a 2008 R2 server. I am an administrator. I installed all the prereqs including .net 3.5 SP1, Visual Studio 2008 runtimes, and Visual Basic Runtimes in that order. This machine previously had version 7.00 successfully installed no problems. I did uninstalls of everything, rebooted and then deleted the Trim directories after the reboot since the uninstaller for 7.00 doesn't do that. When I go through the installer selecting everything for the Server but the Demo database I get to the screen where I'm prompted for my domain, user and password for the service to run as. I have done this plenty of times in our environment in version 6.x and 7.00 so I know what to put in. Also looked again at the 7.02 install to make sure I was remembering right. However if I hit the next key I get a message saying either the credentials are wrong or the account doesn't have the log on as a service privilege. I know the account has that privilege as I used it before on the same machine for Trim 7.00 and I double checked anyway. So that's fine. I also doubled checked that I was remembering the password correctly by logging onto another machine with that account. If I click to ignore this error anyway and proceed with the install the install will fail with a dialog saying that the Workgroup Service could not be created maybe due to a lack of permissions. At that point I hit the Cancel button and the install is rolled back. What am I forgetting here or have others had this problem?
49 REPLIES
Grundy
Honored Contributor

Re: Can't install 7.02 build 1621

Have you run the MSI 'as administrator'?

You may need to:

1. Goto Start > Programs > etc... > right-click 'Command Prompt' > Run As Administrator

2. navigate to the HP_TRIM msi

3. run msiexec /i HP_TRIM.msi

If you are running UAC, turn it off.