Client Automation Standard Practitioners Forum
cancel

unable to download HP Softpaq patches

SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

unable to download HP Softpaq patches

When I do a patch acquisition, I am able to download MS patches without a problem, but when the HP Softpaq patches are to be downloaded, a list is created and in the patch manager, the directories are created but it fails to download from HP's FTP server. See attachment.
Is there a patch for HPCA standard 7.2 to fix this?
23 REPLIES
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

attachment
Karl Skelton
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

doesn't look like the complete log, maybe there are other relevant errors?

The only issue we've seen with softpaq's is this one...
http://support.openview.hp.com/selfsolve/document/KM519201

Karl @HP Support
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

I think it had to do with another problem I was experiencing. I couldn't delete groups, os images, or software packages and even if I published another os package it wouldn't show up in console.
I stopped the portal service and deleted the C:\Novadigm\ManagementPortal\etc\jobs.* files and restarted the service.

Some softpaq packages downloaded but I still see some errors. I'll investigate a bit more before posting my results.
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

No I'm not having that problem.

Are the softpaqs downloaded from HP and stored in the CMDB after I run the acquisition? Or are they just listed on the CMDB and downloaded from HP when required?

I see the softpaq packages in the DB in the patch management section in Console and the acquisition log says no errors occurred in the chart under "Current Statistics" but if I scroll down to the "Error Information" I see things like "20081219 18:06:26 Connection failed to FTP server: ftp.hp.com, user: anonymous, attempts: 4, filename: pub/softpaq/sp38001-38500/sp38166.exe"

So is it safe to assume that if the softpaq patches are appearing under patches in Console, those patches were downloaded successfully?
Karl Skelton
Honored Contributor

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

I just ran a test with CAStandard 7.2.
I acquired the softpaq's for system ID 088C and had a number of patches added to the database in the PATCHMGR\LOCATION folder.

I didn't see anything in my acquire log that resembles yours!

Do you have a proxy that needs opening for the HP FTP?

Which System ID did you try. Maybe i can test that one also.

Karl.
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

Hi Karl,

I have no proxy. Internet firewall though.

System IDs I'm testing: 088C,0890

If I go to the "D:\Novadigm\PatchManager\data\patch\hp_softpaq" directory I see the directories of the patches, but when I look inside I see no files. Well I see another directory (ex. FB29DC4B) but no files in that either.
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

In my PATCHMGR\LOCATION I have 1500+ instances
Karl Skelton
Honored Contributor

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

I was thinking more of a main internet proxy server\cache on your firewall. Maybe this needs to allow through the FTP address.

For example, can you download this file directly from the CAS server IE browser...
ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp31001-31500/sp31394.exe

Karl.
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

yeah I tried that before and it works. I can download the file no problem.
Karl Skelton
Honored Contributor

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

Can you attach the full acquisition log.
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

see attachment

There a huge time gap between 20081219 09:44:20 and 20081219 18:04:20

Error: error | E: Timeout of control connection after 30000 sec.!

Does that other patch fix that problem?
Karl Skelton
Honored Contributor

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

i tried the same softpaq sys ids and it worked for me.
But if i removed the proxy address from the CAS\Configuration\Patch Management\Settings\Proxy Server Address - i get a similar failure.

Could you check the if you have a proxy address in your IE browser. If you do, can you add this to the CAS server setting.
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

No proxy settings in IE - nothing is checked and no values/ip addresses are in there.
Karl Skelton
Honored Contributor

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

from my log this is the first address it is hitting. can you access this one from the browser?
ftp://ftp.hp.com:21//pub/softpaq/sp38001-38500/sp38166.txt

pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

No it doesn't work.
Well firefox shows me a empty directory and IE shows me "IE cannot display the webpage"
Karl Skelton
Honored Contributor

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

OK. So again, i think this is an internet proxy server issue. Do you have a network team that you can talk to, to see if there is a reason why the FTP url is blocked?
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

Even if I try that link on my home computer it doesn't work.

I do have a firewall on but it's only a basic built in router firewall.
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

Someone else had a similar problem: http://forums11.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=1149677

I guess I would have to open up a support ticket too.
Karl Skelton
Honored Contributor

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

Opening a ticket with Radia support wouldn't help here, as this is not a Radia issue. The Radia folks have no control over the content of the Softpaq site. But still i do not think it is an issue with the FTP site as i was able to successfully run the same softpaq acquisition that you ran!
pjmiebach_1
Senior Member

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

I cleared out all the patches from the D:\Novadigm\PatchManager\data\patch directory and re-acquiring MS08 and softpaqs for 2820 and 088C.

I'll see if I still get the same error.
Marcin Wnuk
Super Collector

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

in my opinion there is no file like
sp38166.txt at ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp38001-38500/
there are sp38166.cva, sp38166.html, sp38166.exe.
I think, sp38166.txt was replaced with sp38166.html
Dheeraj Nayak
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

550 /pub/softpaq/sp38001-38500/sp38166.exe: No such file or directory.

this is the error i receive....

BTW, all the softpack downloads that is suggested under online diagnostics failed. i wonder if this is an issue with the ftp/ftp://
Dheeraj Nayak
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: unable to download HP Softpaq patches

Marcin,you are partially right....the sp38166.exe doesnt exist....nor the html file....pls look at the screenshot....
//Add this to "OnDomLoad" event