Client Automation Standard Practitioners Forum
cancel

Software deployment problems

Highlighted
Aerts
Regular Contributor.

Software deployment problems

Hey all,

I just installed HP OV Configuration management, so I'm very new to the program.

First of all I have some problems by remotely deploying the agent to the clients, had to do this manually. Seeing I'm working in a rather small test environment this isn't a real problem, though it would start to form a huge problem if we decide to buy this package and deploy it in our company.

Second problem I encounter is that my software is published to the client, where I then can manually install the software. However I want my software to deploy automaticly.. Anyone who can help me with this?

Regards,
Dimitri
12 REPLIES
Roy O Gatewood_
Acclaimed Contributor.

Re: Software deployment problems

Not sure about your client deployment issues. There are lots of ways to get that done from GPO installs to RMP remote installations.
Not sure what you're saying when you say "published to the client". If this is an MSI application then using the Publisher should have done if for you if not then use the ZCREATE method on the Service to run the installation script etc.
I'd surely review the client connect log to see what occured during your attempt to install the software.
Aerts
Regular Contributor.

Roy,

HP OV doesn't install my agents on my clients, there is that option to do it remotely from within HPOV, though that doesn't seem to work.

Second problem I had was that when you publish software, it shows up on the client where you have to manually click it to install it. There is howerer also an option to deploy software. Deploying software doesn't work. The client machines do nothing when I give the command to deploy, for example, office.

Though, the same office can be installed when publishing it and then manually clicking it.

Hope this clarifies my problem a bit more.